Scrapbookpages Blog

November 18, 2016

The difference between a blog and a discussion forum

Filed under: Holocaust, Uncategorized — furtherglory @ 9:08 am

What you are reading right now is a BLOG, which is a word that is short for the word Weblog. Some people think that there is no difference between a blog and a discussion forum.

A blog has a comment section and a discussion forum is nothing but a comment section. But there is a difference between the two. You can read the definition of a discussion forum at

http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/discussion-board-discussion-group-message-board-online-forum

Here is the definition of a blog, which I have copied from the Internet:

Begin quote

A blog (a truncation of the expression weblog) is a discussion or informational website published on the World Wide Web consisting of discrete, often informal diary-style text entries (“posts”)

End quote

There is currently an ad on TV which shows a nice looking old lady who is writing on her blog, while her care giver looks on. That’s me. I have a blog, not a discussion forum. Comments on my blog should be about what I have written, not a discussion about something that I have not written.

I have over I,8OO readers per day, on my blog. These readers are in countries all over the world. They never comment, probably because English is their second language.

I have been advised [privately] by one of my readers, to set up a Hole where I can put the comments that have nothing to do with what I write. This could be called the Bielski Hole, in honor of the Bieklski Brothers who hid Jews in holes in the ground, while the Holocaust was in progress.

1 Comment »

  1. Hermie’s all for it, FG. I think it would be a shame.

    Jeff

    Comment by brycesdaddy1105 — November 18, 2016 @ 11:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

