Scrapbookpages Blog

April 2, 2017

entrance into Auschwitz gas chamber through the back door

Filed under: Germany, Holocaust, Uncategorized — Tags: , — furtherglory @ 10:31 am

My 1998 photo of the back door into the Auschwitz gas chamber

The photo above shows the door through which visitors used to enter the gas chamber in the main Auschwitz camp, a few years ago. This door, which has a glass panel on the top, was originally the door into a washroom which is shown in the foreground. The room in the background of the photo is the “laying out room” which was used as an autopsy room when the gas chamber was originally used as a morgue.

The Holocaust victims allegedly entered the washroom and then proceeded into the gas chamber through another door which is no longer there. When the gas chamber was reconstructed by the Soviet Union in 1947, the washroom was included in the gas chamber.

You can see my photo of the back door into the Auschwitz gas chamber [shown above] on this page of my website: http://www.scrapbookpages.com/AuschwitzScrapbook/Tour/Auschwitz1/Auschwitz08C.html

One of the readers of my blog put up a link to a video about Auschwitz which you can watch at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMNikDiN-Xc&feature=youtu.be

In the video, cited above, you can see my photo, which is claimed in the video to be have been the door INTO the gas chamber. Yes, that door does open inward as shown in my photo, but it was never claimed, by anyone, to have been the door into the gas chamber.

When I visited Auschwitz for the first time in 1998, I was the only tourist there. I had a private tour guide, who flew in from New York city and met me at the Munich airport when I arrived.

The next day, she took me on a tour of the Auschwitz I camp where we went through the front door of the alleged gas chamber  building. The door in the photo above is the back door. My tour guide told me that the bodies in the gas chamber were removed through this back door and burned in the ovens. However, she would not allow me to go through this door; she said that it was forbidden for tourists to go through the back door.  I wonder what she did not want me to see.

My tour guide took me into the Auschwitz gas chamber through the front door which is shown in the background of my photo below.

My 2005 photo of the Auschwitz 1 gas chamber shows the front door in the background

4 Comments »

  1. When my wife and I visited Auschwitz the first time in 1969 the front door consisted of rough four or five inch vertical boards with open gaps between them. The second visit in 1998 they had covered the slats with what is called hardboard. They also had a crude peephole, trying to conform with the tall tales of the so called eye witnesses.

    Comment by John mortl — April 4, 2017 @ 2:34 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

