Scrapbookpages Blog

April 19, 2017

The anniversary of the liberation of Dachau is coming up soon

Filed under: Dachau, Germany, Holocaust, Uncategorized, World War II — Tags: , , — furtherglory @ 4:26 pm

My photo of the gate into the Dachau camp

I was the wife of a US Army officer in 1957 and my husband and I were living in Germany, a few miles from Dachau. I had read about Dachau but I thought that it would be too horrible for me to visit. I had a chance to go to visit the former camp, but I declined to go. I wish now that I had gone.

To read all about Dachau, go to this section of my website: http://www.scrapbookpages.com/DachauScrapbook/index.html

This section on my website is all about the liberation of the camp: http://www.scrapbookpages.com/DachauScrapbook/DachauLiberation/index.html

This page is especially interesting:

http://www.scrapbookpages.com/DachauScrapbook/DachauLiberation/LiberationDay3.html

The following quote is from my website:

Begin quote

Two Divisions of the US Seventh Army were involved in the liberation of the Dachau main camp on April 29, 1945, and with each passing year, the argument grows more heated over which division really liberated the camp, the 42nd Infantry Division or the 45th Infantry Division. The 20th Armored Division was providing support and they are included as liberators of Dachau by the US Army. However, Japanese and African-American veterans have also made claims that their divisions or battalions liberated Dachau.

End quote

Bill O’Reilly has been kicked to the curb

Filed under: TV shows, Uncategorized — furtherglory @ 3:09 pm

There have been rumors for days, about Bill O’Reilly; finally the day has come: O’Reilly has been kicked out of his TV show.

You can read all about it in this news article: https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/style/bill-oreilly-is-officially-out-at-fox-news/2017/04/19/74ebdc94-2476-11e7-a1b3-faff0034e2de_story.html?utm_term=.5dae0cc9bd52

This all started when O’Reilly insulted Megan Kelly on his TV news show. The insult was something about “blood coming out of her what-ever.” Or was it Donald Trump who hurled that insult? Bill and the Donald are like two peas in a pod.

The following quote is from the news article cited above:

Begin quote

Fox News on Wednesday ended its association with Bill O’Reilly, the combative TV host and commentator who has ruled cable-news ratings for nearly two decades and was the signature figure in the network’s rise as a powerful political player.

The conservative-leaning host’s downfall was swift and steep, set in motion less than three weeks ago by revelations of a string of sexual harassment complaints against him. The questions about his conduct represented yet another black eye to Fox, which had dealt with a sexual harassment scandal involving its co-founder and then-chairman Roger Ailes, just last summer.

“the terracotta floors in the [gas] chambers … became very slippery when wet”.

Filed under: Germany, Holocaust, Uncategorized — furtherglory @ 10:11 am

Fareham-Terracotta-Floor34-Finished.jpeg

An expensive terracotta floor in an American bathroom

My 2001 photo of  Dachau gas chamber shows  a brick floor

You can read all about the gas chamber at Auschwitz on my website at https://www.scrapbookpages.com/AuschwitzScrapbook/Tour/Auschwitz1/Auschwitz08.html

The title of my blog post today is a quote from a news article which you can read in full at

https://www.theguardian.com/law/2017/apr/18/opening-un-holocaust-files-archive-war-crimes-commission

The following quote is from the news article:

Begin quote

War crimes files revealing early evidence of Holocaust death camps that was smuggled out of eastern Europe are among tens of thousands of files to be made public for the first time this week.

[….]

The Polish government in exile, the files also record, supplied extraordinarily detailed descriptions to the UNWCC of concentration camps such as Treblinka and Auschwitz, where millions of Jews were gassed. The accounts had been smuggled out of occupied eastern Europe. A charge sheet from April 1944 mention victims being forced to strip off clothing and how “the terracotta floors in the [gas] chambers … became very slippery when wet”.

End quote

When I remodeled my 1938 house, I wanted to have a terracotta floor in my kitchen, but my builder told me that few people in America in 1938 were rich enough to have a terracotta floor. I settled for a more appropriate floor in light green.

The gas chambers at Treblinka have been destroyed and there is nothing left of them, but the gas chamber in the main Auschwitz camp is still there. My photo below shows the Auschwitz gas chamber.

My 2005 photo of Auschwitz gas chamber

Correct me if I am wrong, but I think that a terracotta floor would be red in color.  A terracotta floor is very expensive, Why would such a floor be put into a gas chamber?

Blog at WordPress.com.