Scrapbookpages Blog

December 21, 2013

Where is the Dachau Memorial Hall located?

Filed under: Dachau, Germany — Tags: , , — furtherglory @ 10:01 am

Every morning, when I check my blog stats, I look to see what search terms people have used to find my blog.  This morning, I saw that someone had searched on “noor inayat khan monument Dachau.”

There is a plaque on the wall of the crematorium at Dachau, which is shown in my photo below, but I didn’t know, until now, that there is a monument to Noor Inayat Khan at Dachau.  The monument must have been put up some time after May 2007, which was the last time that I saw the Dachau Memorial Site on the grounds of the former Dachau concentation camp.

But why is there a monument ONLY to Noor Inayat Khan at Dachau?  There were FOUR British SOE agents who were executed at Dachau.  Why do the other three get no respect?  I previously blogged about the execution of Noor Inayat Khan at https://furtherglory.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/update-on-the-execution-of-noor-inayat-khan-at-dachau/

Plaque on wall of Dachau crematorium in honor of 4  British SOE agents

Plaque on wall of Dachau crematorium in honor of 4 British SOE agents

I did a google search on “noor inayat khan monument dachau” and found a photo of a plaque on Wikipedia commons, which is shown below.   I also found an entry on Wikipedia for the British Soe agents who were executed at Dachau, which also showed the photo below, that was taken on 12 July 2007.

Plaque in honor of Noor Inayat Khan in "Dachau Memorial Hall"

Plaque in honor of Noor Inayat Khan in “Dachau Memorial Hall”

The last time that I was at the Dachau Memorial Site, it was on two separate days in May 2007.  Apparently this “monument” was put up, in the “Dachau Memorial Hall,” sometime between May and July, 2007.  I did not see the “Dachau Memorial Hall” when I visited in May.  I didn’t even know that such a thing existed.  Someone please tell me where “the Dachau Memorial Hall” is located.

The Dachau Museum is located in this building

The Dachau Museum is located in this building

The museum at Dachau is located in the large building, shown in the photo above, but where is the “Dachau Memorial Hall”?  I have been to Dachau on at least 10 separate days, and I never saw the “Dachau Memorial Hall.”

Wikipedia has the following information about Noor Inayat Khan:

On 11 September 1944, Noor and three other SOE agents from Karlsruhe prison, Yolande Beekman, Eliane Plewman and Madeleine Damerment, were moved to the Dachau Concentration Camp. In the early hours of the morning of 13 September 1944, the four women were executed by a shot to the head. Their bodies were immediately burned in the crematorium. An anonymous Dutch prisoner emerging in 1958 contended that Noor was cruelly beaten by a high-ranking SS officer named Wilhelm Ruppert before being shot from behind.[13]

The source for this information is this: Basu, Shrabani Spy Princess: The Life of Noor Inayat Khan” Sutton Publishing, 2006

I have written about the alleged death of four British SOE agents at Dachau on my website at http://www.scrapbookpages.com/DachauScrapbook/BritishSOEagents.html

I have written about Noor Inayat Khan on my website at http://www.scrapbookpages.com/DachauScrapbook/BritishSOEagents01.html